Frustrations and expectations.

Sometimes we expect too much from our children; I know that I do. I find myself lacking patience with N when I should have all the patience in the world. I expect her to know exactly what I’m talking about and when she doesn’t, I get frustrated. When I get frustrated I have to sit back and realize that I don’t have the right. She’s only been on this planet for two and a half years; I have 21 years on her so of course I know what I’m talking about, but that’s the problem, she doesn’t. It upsets me that I forget how little she is sometimes; that I ask too much of her sometimes. I wonder if I’m forcing her to grow up faster than she’s meant to grow up and that hurts because I want her to stay little forever. This world is cruel and I’m bringing her up in a world full of hate; I shouldn’t rush her. I need to be teaching her how to love and be a compassionate, wonderful person instead of using the words ”hurry” and ”come on” more than i’d like to admit. I need to come up with creative ways to help her learn instead of raising my voice and letting my frustration get the best of me. After all, she’s the smartest kid I know; she learns faster than I’d like her to, so why do I want to shove more knowledge in there when she’s doing the best she can? I need to let her walk at her own pace instead of my own. From now on I am going to try and be better about that. I don’t want her to grow up.

IMG_6527IMG_6534

3 thoughts on “Frustrations and expectations.

Leave a comment